Canadian Cancer Society…Forced to turn down donations…

OK this pisses me off something fierce. It’s not brand new news, it’s from a few weeks ago, but I haven’t written about it yet. A group of local exotic dancers here in Vancouver run a little event every year to raise money for Breast Cancer research. It’s called Dancers for Cancer I believe, and they raise a few thousand dollars each year from people going to see them. Good on them I say.

I believe I read in the paper that it was started a few years ago when a dancer found out she had breast cancer, and her friends organized a fundraiser to cheer her up a bit. She ended up dying, but the event has lived on. So now this year the Canadian Cancer Society has said it won’t accept money raised from this. Huh??? It turns out it’s not that they don’t want to accept the money, but they are being coerced into not accepting it.

See, apparently some old biddy or biddies have threatened to pull their much larger donations if the Society associates itself with strippers. This is absolutely ridiculous to me. Seriously, you will not donate to a charity that may save your or your mother’s/wife’s/girlfriend’s/sister’s life because dancers are donating to them too?? WTF is wrong with you people???? OK it’s fine if you don’t like strippers or are morally offended by their career choice; that’s your right. But to make an important agency like Canadian Cancer research turn down the money for breast cancer because it offends your sensibilities that the money was raised by showing…er… breasts… makes you one of the most ridiculous hypocrites i’ve ever heard about!

I’m sorry, I agree and support everyone’s right to have a moral belief, religion, political slant…that’s ok. But when your religious or moral views negatively affect the greater good’s way of life, I have a problem with it. I know the argument…would i be happy about the Nazi’s supporting my favorite charity, or something like that. Well, no, of course not…but would I force that charity to turn down that money? Heck no…if it could save my life or the life of someone I love in the future, at the end of the day money is money. Does this person believe that only non-strippers can get cancer? Or do they believe that only non-strippers deserve treatment for it if they do get it? This is incredibly offensive and shortsighted to me…

I would truly like to know who or what organization it is that is strong-arming the cancer society into turning down free money so that if they are a business I can make sure I never spend my money there. But, by their tactics i’m guessing the republican party of the US… that or some individual with a sociopathic bent… Yay for altruism that comes with conditions! >:(

Anyways, here is a link to the original story from some time ago…they did find another related charity in the end…

2 comments so far

  1. Cage on

    Anyone should be free to donate to the organization of their choice; this is really sad to hear.

  2. […] they feel an association would result in a greater loss of support from other donors. Several such incidents have been in the news over the years. Unfortunately, such policies can have the effect of […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

