Been a couple of days…

…Moving and all that.  The move went fine; I didn’t have that much to move actually hehe.  It only took me about 4 hours to get all unpacked on the other side.  Two things about my new place.  #1 It is SMALL!  Good thing I don’t own much…  #2 It’s HOT!  The way it’s laid out there is a balcony with a sliding door and then the bedroom with a window in it.  The two opening windows are beside each other, hence not much airflow.  I’ve been in there since Saturday and have had two fans blowing constantly, plus the windowswide open.  It didn’t help much.
I met the neighbours in the apartment building next door to my building(their balcony and my balcony are spitting distance…welcome to living less rich hehe) and they’re pretty cool.  He plays guitar as well so we had a little chat about gear.

Had the cable co. come by yesterday to set up internet…it didn’t work and didn’t work and didn’t work and finally it turned out that the splitter he brought was probably defective.  Except in the end that wasn’t it.  Anyways, I had internet for a couple hours, then it went away.  It returned about 5 hours later for a little while and then left again.  So I called support and they can’t send anyone out until saturday.  Sigh.  So I’m somewhat underwhelmed by the cable internet experience thus far.  Anyways that’s the main reason I have posted for a few days.  Turns out it’s probably my cable jack that’s causing the issue; most of my TV channels below 22 are fuzzy and ghost-y, and the tech support guy figures thats a good sign that there’s an outlet issue.

Went out and bought a bunch of stuff…like food, a cutlery tray, a clock, some basic tools; all stuff that I just don’t own.  Set up the home theatre system and have my surround speackers sitting on boxes.  Have zero decorations up so far, but I have a few pictures and stuff like that that will get up this week as we go forward.

All in all, it’s got the trappings of a swinging bachelor pad in the makings.  Now if only the cat will come out from under the bed and get to know his new home…  that and I still have nothing to sit on but a fold up camping chair, but that will change soon…got my whole network of friends and co-workers keeping eyes open for good seating.

2 comments so far

  1. Rosie on

    Yep, your place is *definitely* sounding like a bachelor pad!!

  2. twitchy67 on

    Heh…it’s almost a throwback to my college days when decorating was all about the milk crates. That and the beer label wallpaper. It’s actually kind of embarrassing right now, so, sorry Rosie, but we can’t have our date til I’m comfortable having someone see the place. 😛


Leave a Reply

