The Piper at the Gates of Dawn has left…RIP Syd Barrett

That unbelievably cool band in heaven just got another new member… I see that Syd Barret died a few days ago.  It’s too easy and cliche to just say “Shine on you crazy diamond”, but damn it fits.  It’s a sad day for the music world; Syd was one of the best and for a short time that star burned extremely bright before fading into self imposed exile.  Wikipedia has a very informative page on him.  Syd Barrett was never a major influence on my guitar playing, as I discovered him long after I had learned to play and kind of found my tone, but I can see his influence on a ton of my influences.  So I guess he kind of was a major influence on me.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

