Soundtrack 09-05-2006 – Pet Sounds

Well, thanks to Wil Wheaton reminding me that its the 40th anniversary of the brilliant Pet Sounds album, it’s in today’s playlist. “WHAT???!!!???” you may say, “Mr. Slipknot and Korn and SOAD listens to the Beach Boys????  And OWNS it???”

Yes its true.  Pet Sounds is one of the top ten albums of all time, and Brian Wilson’s genius is well showcased on it.  It was actually more of a Brian Wilson solo project than anything else, as he did all the writing, producing, instrumentation and the majority of the vocals with a session band while the rest of the Beach Boys were on tour in Japan.   Pet Sounds reshaped the late 60s pop music sound; it was psychedelic rock a year BEFORE sgt pepper.  When this album came out, people fell off their chairs…nothing like it had ever been heard by most people before.

I discovered both Pet Sounds and the Beatle’s brilliant Revolver album a few years ago when the singer in my band said it was required listening.  Odd, as we’re a sludgy hard rock band…  but I got it…first listen and I got it.   Obviously I had heard the songs since I was a kid, but this is when I first actively listened to it.  And it was pretty amazing.   Before that my level setting psychedelic album had been Sgt. Pepper, which I am also a big fan of.  Pet Sounds is also when I first heard the Theremin as a centerpiece; i’ve been looking for one ever since (found one in Seattle once but the guy wanted WAY too much money for it).

So there you go…the dark musical secret of Twitch.  Plus having the opportunity to trackback to WWdN helps my traffic.

🙂

1 comment so far

  1. Duane on

    Pet Sounds is great. The beatles have openly admitted it was the inspiration for Sgt. Peppers.


Leave a Reply

