The Dating Scene…an update and my superpowers

So it’s been a few weeks now that I’ve been back in dating land. In that time I’ve had 5 dates with 4 different women. Two of them had the same name. I met one at an online dating site, one thru a co-worker, one is someone i’ve kind of known (although not very well) for a while, and one was just a cute girl I met on the seabus and invited for coffee. As far as I know, two of them know of this blog and one of them actually ever reads it. So I’m not gonna say anything too descriptive.

The online dating site person was the first; she had a great picture and was pretty cool online. We met for lunch somewhere and although I didn’t fall off my chair or anything, we had a nice friendly time. There wasn’t a whole lot of chemistry there, but I figured I made a new friend which is always good. Invited her over to watch a movie and have some ‘za as friends the next week and she came over. I figured it was all cool. Then she got a little bit kinda needy seeming online which was a bit of a bummer. I still chat with her a bit but I’m not really interested in being more than friends; different kind of head spaces.

The second was the co-workers friend. The plan was to meet at a pub and have a drink or 2 and hang out a bit. I was put off at the first words. She was nice and all but just so not interesting at all to me. All she wanted to talk about was alcohol. Yawn. I don’t drink much at all so a hardcore drinker is more of a turn off than anything else to me. And frankly, party stories were fun when I was 19…but I’m a bit beyond that now. Pretentious, maybe, but if I’m pretentious then that’s what I am. The other thing that kinda put me off was a little thing that happened. I had been watching a band at another place and beers were like 3 bux each. Went to the place where she and her friend were and it cost me 40 bux for a round of drinks. I made a comment that I was a bit shocked after paying 6 for the previous two hours, and she was IM’ing people that I’m cheap. LOL. Anyone who knows me knows that I’m one of the most frivolous spenders ever…cheap and me are somewhat mutually exclusive terms. But whatever. I didn’t find her all that attractive or interesting anyways (not that they need to be super hot to date me…I’m no model sexy guy).

So far I was 0 for 2 for interest in carrying it further, but that’s all good. At this point I’m just into having some fun and meeting new people. I made at least one friend and got out of my teensy little apartment and into the world. My confidence up a bit, I had a little chat with a pretty girl on the seabus after work one day and we got along pretty well. I asked her if she wanted to grab a coffee on the other side and she said sure. We chatted a bit and got along ok but there was nothing there from her side…which was ok cuz it turned out she is like 15 years younger than me. 🙂 The age thing isn’t that big of a deal actually, not for just hanging out. But at the end of the day I’m not interested in being a sugar daddy, and frankly she was a bit outta my league for anything beyond that.

Number 4 was a girl I’ve kinda known thru association for a few years; she hung with some friends of mine and I’d met her at a party a long time ago, and we’ve had some net based communications since then.  We went for lunch a few weeks ago and I enjoyed my time with her…she’s friendly, funny and flirty.  I figured it would be cool to go on another date or two with her and see where it leads.  But, alas, it’s not to be.  In the last two weeks she’s met someone else she’s now exclusive with.  Which is great; I’m a bit bummed cuz I was intrigued by her, but not that much cuz it was really just one date.  And to be honest I never did have a good read on the impression I made on her.  Plus she likes bad TV :).

This is my superpower.  In my early 20’s it was common for me to date a girl and be attracted and the next guy she dated would be her soul mate.  This happened to me like a half dozen times in a row; at the time it was extremely frustrating.  I date a girl and she ends up marrying my roommate or something within a few months.  It was also common that if I slept with a girl she would get pregnant within a year from someone else.  This happened with 5 different girls before I moved to the West coast.  This one wasn’t nearly so frustrating…hehe it was more like “Phew!  I dodged that babybullet!”.  One girl actually did both…got pregnant and married the guy; I DJ’d their wedding.  That one was OK cuz I ended up seeing her sister for a while (Yes, I know…wierd…).  Who is to still married to the guy she dated after me, btw.  We were still friends when I left; if I go home to visit the family I try and call her up to say hi, tho we’ve kind of lost touch over the last couple years.

It’s probably just a bunch of coincidences, but at the end of the day it’s way cooler to have a superpower, so I’m gonna run with that.  It occurs to me that maybe putting the girls getting pregnant/married bit in might not do me alot of good amongst any single ladies who read this blog…lol.

Now to go find myself some more dates.

4 comments so far

  1. Duane on

    Dude, never think you’re out of your league with a girl.

  2. twitchy67 on

    LOL…Remember Boston… Out of my league doesn’t slow me down for being friendly or asking the questions or whatever. But this was a hot 23 year old chick; she WAS out of my league as far as anything beyond what we did.

  3. Rosie on

    I know I can be hard to read 😉 I enjoyed our lunch together! And young works for you, so don’t sweat it MWUAHAHA

  4. Cage on

    Since you are a bit of a poker player, your odds have been pretty good 5 dates with 4 girls, not too shabby.

    Just wanted to tell you that beauty, just like sexiness is in the eyes of the beholder. Haven’t you seen a beautiful woman before and she’s pretty but there just isn’t any sex appeal about her; and then again you might see an average girl and there is just something hot about her. You can’t put sexy on like a pair of jeans; you either are or you are not (and that may depend on who’s looking).

    Women view men in the same way. So my point is you don’t need to be “model like” to be hot.


Leave a Reply

