My books

I read alot. I go to bookstores and spend too much money on a regular basis. I get caught up in books and rarely find one I figure to be bad. I tend to buy books at random and don’t have a particular style that I prefer. When I was a kid I was into the pulpy science fiction and then moved into the horror, Stephen King and Ann Rice were my favorites there. But genres tend to get repetitive, especially by the same author; there isn’t a whole lot of plot or character development difference between Interview with the Vampire and Taltos or any of the other myriad of New Orleans goth books Ann Rice wrote. I tend to buy most of them, but have really lost interest in them.

Over the past few years I’ve consciously endeavoured to branch out in books I buy. I look for interesting covers and plot descriptions. I don’t follow reviews much, but I have picked up some of the well reviewed books, the Oprah books or whatever. It’s not that I went looking for a book that someone said was good so much as the book i chose happened to be on that list. I’ve read many gems in recent times; Wicked, Life of Pi, Smilla’s Sense of Snow, the whole baroque cycle (and the rest of the Neal Stephenson collection), The Adventures of Cavalier and Clay, a boatload of others too and discovered new favorites. The aforementioned Neal Stephenson, Neil Gaiman, Michael Ondaantje have all become staples of my bookshelf. And I still buy pulp too…I have several Jonathon Kellerman books, and the whole wheel of time collection (whoda thunk I’d get sucked into a geeky fantasy story?).

This collection of fiction is interspersed with a number of non-fiction books…a bunch on sales craft, a whole shelf of poker books, a few on various music things, and biographies of Einstein, Zappa, Bowie, Lennon, various other musicians, artists and science figures, both of Wil Wheatons books. All in all its a fairly diverse bunch of books. I can’t say that I own any classics tho (unless you count Sun Tzu’s Art of War as a classic). No, other than art of war the earliest written book I have is probably from the 60’s.

I also can never seem to get rid of books. I loan them out and all that, but I’m loathe to throw them out or donate them or sell them to the used book store for some reason. I always think that I may want to read it again. It’s the one place in my life that I’m a total packrat. The result of this is that over the years I’ve amassed a fair number. When I broke up with the ex she kept some of my books, and previous to that we had moved and made me donate a couple boxes, which was hard. I still have a 7 ft by 5ft bookshelf filled two levels deep, and another smaller one stacked up.

Yesterday, Chapters/Indigo/Coles had a customer appreciation day where they gave 20% off all books. I went down to Indigo and ended up buying 5 books. I purchased a book called “Fuck-Up” just cuz of the title, 2 books by Neal Stephenson and another guy, a book called “Aztec” that looks like it will either be real cool or a “Sarum” like snoozer, and “The Professor, the Banker, and the Suicide King”, a classic non fiction book in the poker world about the richest texas hold’em game ever played (with 10s of millions of bux on the table at times!!!). I’ve always planned to buy Professor/Banker/Suicide king but never had. So now I have it.

So, there’s no real point to my post other than we were speaking about books at work earlier and it got me thinking that I’ve never written in my blog about this very large piece of my life. So there’s the thousand foot view.

5 comments so far

  1. Rosie on

    Have you read any of Ann Rice’s erotica?? :p

  2. Duane on

    Ann Rice’s erotica?? What is that, like Sleeping with the Vampire, or The Vampire Does Dallas?

  3. twitchy67 on

    Hehe no, to both of you. It was called “Interview with the Fellatioist”, and had a sequel titled “Memnock the Penis”. 😀 Actually she wrote under the name A. N. Roquelaure a series called Beauty, that I think is all S & M stuff and she wrote a couple of books under the name Anne Rampling…Exit to Eden and…some other one I don’t remember what. Not sure if those are erotica. I’ve only read the vampire books and a couple of the ghost books…which do have their own subtle eroticism to them, btw.

  4. Duane on

    Brokeback Vampire

  5. tiffany on

    i love michael ondaantje!

    you should get some thomas pynchon. he’s my favorite and beyond BRILLIANT! start with ‘the crying of lot 49’ (it’s a quick read) and then move on to ‘v’ (the book he’s best known for; he’s regarded by countless critics and readers as one of the best authors of our time). have you read ‘gravity’s rainbow’? one of the most incredibly intense novels i’ve managed to finish… with more than 400 characters! i can lend you some of his books if ya’d like… that’s if you’ve not read them already.

    i also highly recommend salman rushdie (read ‘the ground beneath her feet’ if you haven’t yet.)

    and you should seriously get into the *classics*… i could recommend a myriad more than worth the read. 😉

    anyway, now i’m rambling.

    books = good. ’nuff said, i suppose. 🙂


Leave a Reply

