This lingering cough…

It just won’t go away.  For a week now I’ve had this lingering cough that’s driving me nuts.  I don’t feel particularly bad, but I get these coughing fits that last for like 10 minutes.  It’s driving me nuts.  The worst part is I sleep and I cough in my sleep and when you cough you clench your shoulders.  So I wake up mornings with this brutal skull-in-a-vice tension driven headache.  Like every morning since Friday I’ve had this.  Wasn’t so bad today, but some days it’s been pretty brutal.

I get on the phone with customers and have a little hackfest in the middle of the conversation.  I get into meetings and have to leave to cough.  It’s just annoying…all the more so cuz I’m not sick so staying home just messes me up for work and doesn’t solve anything.  Since I have this cough I went out and bought like a lifetime supply of Halls.  It’s got vapour action, you know.  The problem with cough drops for me is that I have some allergy to menthol and it makes me sneeze.  Generally 3 quick sneezes followed by one solo sneeze.  I’ve had this since I was a kid; I’m about 90% sure it’s an allergy.  So I take the cough drops if I have a call or a meeting so I don’t cough on anyone.  But then I sneeze.  Which of course makes everyone think I really am sick.  And I’m not, I don’t think.

Anyways if I still have it this bad tomorrow I’m going to see a doctor, dammit.

4 comments so far

  1. Rosie on

    Maybe it’s something in your diet! I went to this herbalist once, and he told me to avoid fish for a while. I forgot and went for sushi, and after every piece of fish I ate, I hacked up a lung! Go see a herbalist!

  2. Cage on

    At night use a cool mist humidifier (vaporizer) this will avoid that dry cough and you will sleep much better. Daytime, I would opt for lemon juice from half a lemon with a tablespoon of honey and hot water in a mug. Hope you feel better.

  3. Duane on

    It’s called lung cancer. Give up smoking dude.

  4. twitchy67 on

    Um…wow… nice comment. :/


Leave a Reply

