2006: The year that was.

Best Album of the year:  Tool, 10,000 days

Coolest new toy of mine of the year:  My iPod video

Best discovery of the year:  TV on DVD…sooo sucked in to Lost cuz of that…

Geekiest thing I did this year:  Watched all 6 star wars movies in a one week period.

Well this year was nothing if not interesting. It certainly had it’s share of ups and downs (more downs than ups, and some ups that developed into downs and vice versa) and I gotta say I’m mighty glad it’s over.

It started out as all good years start…with me and girlfriend having a massive fight on new years eve, right after the ball dropped in times square. Er…the PST feed, so it was actually the new year. I don’t even remember what it was about, but basically the long and the short of it is that even tho it took another 6 months, that’s when we broke up. That argument pretty much set the whole tone of the year for me.

*note to self: Start 2007 on a positive note*

I worked hard and did have some major successes on that front. I have been top salesperson by far for the past two quarters, and there’s more in the pipe. Everybody in the company has committed major resources and work, and we had some major wins this year because of it. Some of these wins have been publicized and some haven’t. I went to both Spring Von in March and Fall Von in September, and spent a certain amount of time on the eastern side of North America. Got to go to New York City, which was awesome, and added to my cities seen list. Next year will be interesting at work too.

In May I decided to pack in the MadVoiper blog; in view of things that would come to light later in the year I had been thinking for a while that it’s time to stop talking about the industry as eventually I’d say something that got me in trouble with a customer or prospective one. Which of course would get me in trouble at work. Heh. So I started this blog instead which has limited VoIP discussion and is more personal stuff. If work related people want to read it, fine, but you won’t find any trade secrets or ranty opinions about players in the industry here. Not to say I don’t rant…just not about the telco world 😉 .

In June I ended a 9 year relationship which was probably the hardest thing I’ve ever done in my life. We just…faded out, I guess. She was my best friend for so long, and it’s been wierd without her. I do hope that someday we can be friends again; definitely splitting up was the best thing for both of us. I was not doing her any favours by pretending it was still good, and she can’t have been all that happy either. I knew the troubles were insurmountable when we went to counselling to try and fix things, and all I could think of was how sexy the therapist was. Bad, twitchy, bad! Anyways, I got my own place and moved in on July 1. Because pretty much all our furniture was hers, I had nothing but a home theatre system (sans TV), a borrowed futon (hers), a borrowed chair and a borrowed bean bag chair when I moved here. I bought a microwave, a tv, some shelving, a bed, a sofa, dishes and a bedside table since then. Some of those things weren’t super cheap, but I always buy myself stuff to last if I can. Er…the sofa was cheap.

We had a hot summer here, but I didn’t see as much of it as I would have liked. The office moved into a bigger site away from the downtown eastside, and we are now at Bentall Center, which is super easy to get to from my house. It’s quicker for me to take the seabus than drive, so I usually do that. The new office is pretty nice, tho not as open as the old one was.

The band decided to do some recording, and then our singer was moving away in the fall. We decided to have a last gig before he moved, so we had to find a bass player (the previous one had moved away and we weren’t having much luck with bass players). We enlisted the help of a friend of ours who none of us had played with in several years. He fit in pretty well and we got it together. Throughout september we recorded at Hush Studios with awesome engineer Vic at the helm, and then had a gig at the end of the month. We didn’t quite finish the recording; we only had scratch vocal and guitar tracks, but we got the bass and drums done which are the hard parts. I went in after Darrin moved to finish the guitar and he will record the vocals in Ottawa. Then we gotta figure out where to mix, as I think we both want to have a hand in it.

The “last gig” went ok. The third band didn’t show up (assholes) but our opening guy Benjamin Keith was great, and we all had fun. A bunch of work people came out and some other friends, and it was really all our crowd. We played loose and fun and didn’t get too serious; probably wasn’t the best played gig we ever did but it was one of the most fun ones. Some people fell down and bumped their heads, and that’s always the sign of a good show. 😛

Since November we’ve had all kinds of weather excitement in the city, which I’m sure everyone knows about. Record breaking rain, record breaking snow, record breaking wind, record breaking water shortages and record breaking power outages in the last 60 days…wheeeee! It has been pretty grey when it wasn’t extreme weather too. The grey usually eventually gets me.

My december has sucked rocks totally. I did have a good road trip at the start, but other than that I’ve been kicked in the nuts lots this month. The two bright spots were a Christmas eve dinner at Leila’s and a Christmas day dinner at Greg’s (thanks guys, seriously!). Beyond that, I got screwed royally by someone I trusted and it’s tough because it wasn’t a small screwing. I also got the kick in the knackers of being told in no uncertain terms that certain people who I thought valued my presence and input don’t give a rats ass if I’m around them or not; frankly they’d be just as happy if I wasn’t. I guess it’s good to know where I stand. And then to top it all off, all I got for christmas was a 20 dollar HMV gift certificate from our work party. Seriously, that was the ONLY thing I got. The flip side is I didn’t buy many, but I did buy and deliver more than one. Not that “stuff” really matters, but the thought does show that someone gives a shit and values you. Hence the reason I so appreciate the two dinners I was invited to.

Day after tomorrow is my birthday and I’m struggling with whether or not to do anything; most of the friends that would have come to something are just not here, and I don’t really know if I’m up to throwing a party that no one catches. I mentioned it to a few people, but it’s hard at Christmas time…people travel. I would feel pretty crappy if I made plans and like only one or two people showed up…it would be lame for them and embarassing for me. We’ll see I guess.

*edit* Wow, those last two paragraphs are alot more negative sounding than I intended them to be… It’s really not all bad, just all the bad things happened this month. 🙂

5 comments so far

  1. Cage on

    People that don’t want to hang out with you, Clay…their loss.

    As for the person that crossed you, I know how that feels and if you’re like me, you trust most people until they cross you and then the relationship is broken and never the same. Sorry that had to happen.

    Do something for your birthday even if it’s only a couple of people…go out to dinner or something. You’ll have fun.

    Remember to change your blog tomorrow to “I’m 39” (heh).

  2. Rosie on

    2007 will be better!! I know it!

  3. Duane on

    What are you doing for your birthday?

  4. twitchy67 on

    Looks like nothing…heh most people are still outta town 😦

  5. tiffany on

    hope that you had a good birthday, clay! and… about the falling and bumping of heads at your gig… glad it was me and not you? er… haha. 😉


Leave a Reply

