And so it ends…

…my holidays are on their last legs. It’s been WAY too short of a week, but it was a week and I had some fun and relaxation. It may take me a few days to get back into blogging mode, which would be unfortunate as there are some other writing bits I need to get going for a couple of other blogs I’m not going to speak about yet.

I spent alot of late nights this past week, including a few sleep-in-to-the-afternoon mornings, and did a little sight seeing in my home town and had to take two conference calls for work. I also cooked a nice dinner (Thanks for the help shannon-it was a moderate success) for Ruth’s birthday and made a trek to Deep Cove for Honey’s donuts. I watched 3 hockey games and missed smallville, hero’s and survivor. I spent all my money on things needed too.

On Tuesday I took Ruth out to Hope and Hell’s Gate, cuz she’d never been. We had milkshakes at a local Hope cafe, and took my picture in the Rambo stand up. Of course hell’s gate is closed this time of year but it was a nice drive and I’m thinking she enjoyed herself on the way out there…I know I did. Plus even not taking the little Gondola it’s a spectacular view and she took a few pics.

One of the things that always makes me chuckle on the way out of Vancouver on Highway 1 is the road names around Chilliwack. First you pass Lickman road. A little further on is Breast, and then just past that is Anus. I call it the sexy highway. Yeah, it’s pedestrian humour but I’m all about the cheeseball jokes. It’s actually Lickman, Prest and Annis…but having the deviant and somewhat childish mind that I have, Lickman sets the tone and makes it too easy.

Anyways, after that we went to hope and then on to Hell’s Gate. She took a ton of pics on the way back; maybe I should get a flickr account to post them all. That was all in all a great day in the clean air. Wednesday I don’t think I did alot outside of waking up late and puttering around. My excitement on Thursday was getting a haircut and visiting with my friend Angie for a bit.
Friday for Ruth’s birthday I cooked her a steak dinner. Ruth’s friend Shannon gave me some ideas for a nice red wine marinade and loaned me an indoor grill to cook it all on. I made the steak, baked up some potatos and grilled some asparagus for veggies. There was a nice salad to start as well. I love asparagus, btw…it’s probably one of my favorite veggies. For dessert I picked up a nice cake from a bakery. All in all it turned out pretty good, and I’m not much of a cook so I was happy with pretty good 😉 .

Yesterday we went out to Deep Cove for some Honey’s donut’s and the view…it was pretty nice out, so it turned out to be a real good day to go there. On the way back we drove up Mt Seymour just for a drive but there isn’t a whole lot to see up there beyond the trees. She had some dinner with her parents and then was going out with a friend of hers she meets up with once every couple of months for drinks and “people watching”. I watched the Canucks barely win last night and here we are today…

It’s almost like I haven’t had any time off at all, but at the same time I feel quite a bit rested. I’m kind of looking forward to getting back to work tomorrow and changing the world, one endpoint at a time. So…yeah…my cheesy personal blog of the month. The rest have to be more generally interesting I guess. Here’s a couple pics of things from my week off:

img_4165.JPG

img_4174.JPG

img_4418.JPG

5 comments so far

  1. Kasia on

    You look happy and well-rested! Yay! Glad you enjoyed your week off… but gladder you are coming back to work!

  2. Duane on

    Hey man, go easy on the Chilliwack trash talk — sure it smells like manure there and our street names conjure up memories of sodomy, but it’s a decent place to live too.

  3. Duane on

    Err, I meant “visions” not “memories”…

  4. Shannon on

    Glad I could provide some inspiration for Ruth’s Birthday dinner… you did all the hard work though! We’ll make a chef of you yet!!! 😉

  5. Rosie on

    Sounds like a nice birthday for Ruth 😀 Get that flickr account!!


Leave a Reply

