It’s tough being a ‘Nucks fan somedays…

I’m not a loser, I’m not a dweeb…

I’m just a sucker with low self esteem

-Offspring, Self Esteem

DAMN YOU CANUCKS!!!! ONCE AGAIN YOU REST ON YOUR LEAD AND BLOW IT!! FOR THE LOVE OF ALL THAT’S HOLY PICK YER SHIT UP!!

I was a fan when the Canucks sucked and Bure was screwing the team and someone was screwing captain kirk.  I was a fan when Cloutier had a 4.0x GAA and let in 62 goals in a game.  I had seasons tickets in 1998, possibly the worst season they’ve had.  Went to most every game too.  And cheered.  I cheered for Bertuzzi and hoped that that whole incident would blow over.  I figured Nazzy was injured and Morrison was hurting and still counted them among my favorites even without production.  Heck I even figured the sedin’s would be superstars when everyone else called them the Sedin Sisters or the Bobsey twins.  But…

After games like last night, my first inclination is to say “Bah screw em…I’m done getting let down by these guys, and I really don’t like the team!  i’m gonna go back to cheering for the Oilers like I did 15 years ago, and maybe I’ll add Ottawa to the mix” and then never watch another game.  But, alas, like a masochist or the kid quoted in the song above, I keep coming back for more.  What’s worse, I keep believing they’ll pick it up, only to be let down again and again.  Tomorrow, I will sit in front of the TV and watch the game, probably with my Canucks’ Jersey on, and if they win I’ll be ecstatic and be planning where i’ll be when we win the final game of the final series against Ottawa.   And if they lose I will once again feel like I’ve been let down.

Ahhh why do we put ourselves thru it!

3 comments so far

  1. Rosie on

    Because we love our team! YEEEEAH! Go, Canucks!

  2. Duane on

    Yeah man, last night’s game was disappointing. They’ve really been playing like shit compared to what we know they can do. If they don’t pull through tomorrow, they are going to let the whole city down.

  3. femme on

    i don’t know if i can bring myself to watch tonight’s game or not! i *almost* cried the other night with the atrocity i witnessed on my screen. what the hell are they doing??! sigh… my fingers are crossed all the same… but…


Leave a Reply

