Web 2.0 names annoy me

Seriously. Of course this is my own opinion, and it’s not new; there are tons of sites that make fun of web 2.0 names.  Take a nonsensical poobot of a word and start a web 2.0 company with the money you weaseled out of investors who got sucked in by your dumb name. It’s the new world order baby. There are some exceptions; here’s a list of a few web 2.0 names that dont make me cringe:

YouTube

Flickr

Blogger

Napster (i know, it was web 1.0, but it’s kind of a 2.0 name, and probably the reason for all these crappy ones).

eBay

Here’s a list of Web 2.0 names that don’t make me want to use their product. Having said that I actually do use a couple, but trust me, it’s not because of the name. Come on people…think about your name. It’s not cool to have a stupid non word like everyone else does.  I seriously think some of these people went to a “Web 2.0 Name Generator” website and picked their name that way.

Del.ici.ous

Fairtilizer

Gaboobgie

Ooma

Ayogi

Hoooka

qoop

Mahalo

Jaiku

Twitter

zillo

Grazr

Reddit

Digg

Meebo

Zoho

Trillian

Tumblr

3 comments so far

  1. Rosie on

    I haven’t even heard of most of those sites!
    Mahalo is cute 🙂 I forget what it means though.

  2. kasia on

    Too true. Ones that make MY skin crawl include Kijiji and Jajah. My theory is that there is a babbling baby somewhere in an undisclosed location who is randomly generating these names for big moola. You might also like this:

    Bullshitr: Web 2.0 Bullshit Generator
    http://emptybottle.org/bullshit/

  3. Duane on

    Yeah, most of those do suck (although twitter is ok, since their logo is a bird, and birds twit or something).

    However, I own about ten domain names, and I have to say, finding one that makes sense and isn’t taken is nearly impossible now. That’s why there’s a big push for additional top level domains like .biz, .blog etc…


Leave a Reply

