It must be an omen…

(I used to be my own protection)
On a Valentine’s Day,
(But not now)
On a Valentine’s Day

Valentine’s Day, Linkin Park, Minutes to Midnight

So I’ve been booked for my quadruple bypass: February 14th. Valentines day. There is some poetic sweetness in that, no? I met with the surgeon doing the dirty deed yesterday and he showed me where the various bypasses would be going. It’s pretty hardcore, how much things are blocked up. Also it turns out he prefers to take the graft veins from the arm instead of the leg because apparently they last longer. It may mean less struggle to walk after as well, although just marginally. The surgeon said it’s unheard of for someone to meet with him and be booked in for surgery within a week; his general wait time is 6 months. I can’t imagine another 6 months with this; it would be the most depressing half year imaginable.

While I was waiting to meet with the surgeon I happened to hear his assistant call another patient to book surgery on the 14th. This person, however, was unable to get in at that time so they were booked for the 23rd or something, thereby freeing up a spot for me. While speaking to the surgeon he indicated that that particular person was waiting since 2006! There are many reasons that patients get prioritized; for me I’m young, completely healthy except for this, and completely debilitated right now because of it. That makes me a bit of a priority, so I can get back to being a productive member of society. If I was a 68 year old retired guy who didn’t need to move around much, they would probably let me wait a bit longer, as the surgery wouldn’t make the difference between being able to work and not being able to.

So one week. Valentines day. Wheee. I have two concerns. First, the surgeon indicated that 50% of his patients get bumped for surgery due to an emergency. For me that would be brutal, as I have a hard time with all the waiting to begin with. Secondly, I’m concerned that our benefits/insurance co will be hard to deal with. I’ll be right hooped if I can’t get my short term benefits, cuz I won’t be able to pay rent etc. Sigh. Anyways, this is where we are. I can’t wait til it’s done and I can breathe again, move again! Wish me luck all.

quad-bypass.jpg

7 comments so far

  1. twotriplekayaks on

    Wow Clay! Big news! I can’t wait to hear all about it. The Pullyblanks are all thinking of you and sending positive, healing vibes your way.

  2. twotriplekayaks on

    Check this out, it’s long but really great.

  3. twitchy67 on

    Thanks for the comment and vibes Mark (or Tiff…I am assuming it was Mark but could be wrong), and everybody should watch that youtube you sent, cuz that’s a mighty inspiring little speech!

  4. Rosie on

    Good luck!

  5. tiffany on

    oh my dear clay. this is just an upgrade! you’ll be better than ever afterwards!

    this is me wishing you the BEST of luck and speediest of recoveries. and i will come visit and entertain. in a wholesome manner.

    see you soon!!! 🙂

  6. Megan on

    Good luck, good luck…..!

    And on the short-term benefits thing…. You should be filling out a medical EI claim in case your benefits don’t bridge properly. I know, who wants to deal with it right? But you are eligible for medical EI if your insurance company takes its time in paying you.

    Cheers,
    M.

  7. Megan on

    You can do that online btw.


Leave a Reply

