5, 6, 20, 2, 5, 4-4, 1, 4, and other numbers…

It’s been slightly over 5 weeks since my last post. Sorry…just haven’t had much muse kickin about, and been to into trying to heal things up. Which has been going well.

It’s 6 weeks since my life altering surgery, and the recovery process has been good. On week 2 my parents came out and picked up Ruth and I and took us out to Vancouver island to stay at a resort they know near parksville. Normally I’m just not into the being slow on the island thing, but this was instrumental in my recovery I think. We got out walking in the fresh air lots, and were able to just relax outside the city for a week. When they picked us up on the Sunday I was able to walk about 15 minutes, slowly, at a time before I ran out of breath. By the time we got back the following Sunday, I was in much better shape and closer to functional. My grandma came out on the trip too, and at the start her and I were moving about the same pace.

Since then I’ve been walking every day and trying to increase my stamina. I’ve had a sore neck and shoulders thru alot of this, and found I would get out of breath very quickly if I did anything. Now, I’m finding the neck much less sore and I’m able to walk up the hill to Lonsdale (about 5 blocks uphill) without stopping, and keep a good pace once I’m up there. Which is awesome. And what’s more, for the first time in several years I feel very…uh…competitive I guess. I’m setting physical goals and whupping them, and setting more after. I’m looking forward to kicking ass in other areas too. I can’t even explain how exciting it is, to know that if I have to stop something it’s because of running out of breath or sore muscles, and nothing else. Getting back to weightlifting will be next on the agenda, starting the 9th of April with the Open Heart Surgery recovery class at St. Paul’s. It’s not just physical stuff either; I notice myself having more desire to win and being better at other things too.

Not only that, but I’m down a full 20 pounds from my weight when I went into surgery. At first when I had lost weight I had thought it may be due to the surgery itself and all that trauma, but I’ve kept it off and it keeps going down. I’m 200 lbs right now, and my target weight for 16 weeks is 185, which should be quite attainable. I had to go buy a new belt as I ran outta holes on the old one. šŸ˜€

I need to mention here that the support that everyone has shown me thru this has been phenomenal, and I really need to thank everyone for that. Work gave me a nice card signed by everyone, and a bunch of them got together and bought me a future shop gift certificate which came in useful during those times when I wanted something to do. Management supported my time off wholeheartedly, and offered to help as I continue my battle with the insurance company (grr…don’t get me started on the insurance co…). My friends all came out and supported me, some visiting me in the hospital and some visiting me outside. My one friend offered to come get me and take me out for coffee as I didn’t have transportation (I wasn’t allowed to drive for several weeks), and although I haven’t taken her up on that yet, I probably will this week. And I even got a bunch of nice words from my old team at Nokia, comments on my blog. That was a surprise, and appreciated greatly. Of course Ruth has gone above and beyond, basically taking care of me for several weeks and helping me the rest, and she deserves extra special thanks and a smooch to boot. Er…from me… So…thanks everyone.

So 6 weeks after surgery means it’s 2 weeks til I go back to work. I’m actually quite excited about going back, which is also something new…it’s been a while since I’ve been excited about work due to various things, including the whole angina thing. Also it will be nice to do something other than sit on my butt playing warcraft or xbox all day. Heh. The real challenge at work will be to continue eating properly and not fall into the “easy but unhealthy” trap. I think I’m up for the challenge, as my desire to see me hit my goal weight of 185 within 16 weeks will outweigh my desire for fries. I hope. šŸ˜‰

So today is March 30th. Which means in 5 days it will be 04/04/08. On that day it will be 1 year as a nonsmoker! Even a lot of the desire has even gone away. Occasionally I get a strong craving, but it’s pretty rare since the surgery. It’s quite a milestone and I have a certain amount of pride in attaining it. Obviously, I have very strong reasons to continue now as well; the last thing I want is to need this surgery again. Although the holiday was nice, if not especially enjoyable…

On a non personal note, we are coming to the close of another hockey season. The Canucks have 4 games left, all at home, and it is do or die for them. After an abysmal road trip where they went from first in the division to tied for last, they pretty much have to win every remaining game. It was an embarrassment to watch those last games against Colorado, Minnesota and Calgary… all three of which Vancouver should have won. It’s been alot of years since I’ve seen a Vancouver Canucks team with as little heart as they showed on those games; it’s almost like the wanted to lose. No hitting, no emotion, no scoring…it’s like they’re completely out of gas. If they don’t beat Calgary tonight, they remain outside the playoff race, regardless of whether or not Nashville can beat Detroit tonight. If they win, they may take over 8th place, cuz I don’t think Nashville has the nards to beat Detroit.

So, go Canucks. If I post a rant against them tomorrow, you’ll know they lost…although I don’t think they will. šŸ˜‰ If they do lose tonight, we can assume they’ve given up and are done for the season.

drainage.jpg

6 comments so far

  1. Cage on

    Have missed you…good to see you are back.

  2. Kasia on

    Wow, you’ve come such a long way, Clay, we are so happy for you. I still can’t believe it’s been a YEAR since you quit smoking, that’s amazing. And yay, only 2 weeks till you brighten up our day here at the office. Don’t worry, I will keep you away from the fries if you want, hee hee. It will be harder to hide all the chocolate that’s still hanging around from Easter. In the meantime, when ARE we doing coffee? Still 2 cream and 4 sugars?

  3. twitchy67 on

    It’s only 2 cream 4 sugars if it’s tims, cuz their coffee is so acidic that’s the only way to mask it. It’s milk and splenda anywhere else, and less of both. šŸ˜‰

  4. r on

    I’ll take my thanks in the form of a dog, tyvm.

  5. tiffany on

    when are you back to work, mister? next week?? šŸ™‚

  6. twitchy67 on

    I’m back tomorrow :O Warm up the foos table…


Leave a Reply

