Back at it…

(Ooh) I feel so good tonight
(Ooh) Who cares about tomorrow
(Ooh) So baby, you’d better believe

I’m back…back in the New York Groove…”

Ace Frehley, Back in the New York Groove

Ahhh Ace Frehley…the space man.  If you were a tween or young teen boy in the 70’s or the early 80’s and liked rock and roll, kiss was the shit.   My sister had Kiss: Rock and Roll Over on 8 track (EIGHT TRACK!!!!) when I was a kid and I loved that stuff.    Interestingly I never actually heard Back in the New York Groove till much later, if not after high school at least the back part of it.  By the time I actually tried to buy the 4 Kiss solo albums they were impossible to find…  I once met Ace at the NAMM show in Anaheim (National Association of Musical Merchants) I think it was 1993 or 94 cuz I was working for Music West at the time.  I was standing outside having a smoke and this drunk smelling old-ish, fattish guy with super skinny legs and way too tight jeans asks me to borrow one. I say sure and give him one and as I’m holding my lighter to his new smoke, I realize it’s a guy who was my guitar hero when I was like 12.  I think it was at that moment when I lost all childhood ideals of famous idols being near flawless and looking like their media images…lol… Anyways, not my point.

I’m two weeks back at work now, and I’m feeling pretty good.  I’m not necessarily waking up as early as I aim to every day and haven’t been in my usually 6:30 to 7 AM time, but that’s ok…I’m feeling like i’m on my game and ready to take on the challenges thrown at me.  During and right after my absence, some changes took place in the office, all for the better.  The direct result of this is that I have a much larger bit of responsibility, but should also have a much larger opportunity to make some income.   And the responsibility that is being put on me feels manageable.  Heck it’s beyond that, I’m downright excited that I’m finally getting the opportunity to show what I’ve always been able to do, but for so long was too tired or dragged out to complete.

I’ve been walking to work every day, and walking home after as well, and that always sets me in a good mindset for the day.  By the time I get into the office the blood is flowing and my brain is working, and lethargy just doesn’t even want to set in.  This is a good thing.  I’ve been jumping at challenges and problems, and trying to build a work patch of a big enough size that it keeps me constantly busy but small enough that i don’t get overwhelmed.  I can add a fair amount more work before I approach that.

The atmosphere in the office is completely different too.  Some of the things that were casting a dark pall over the environment seem to have been removed.  I don’t know if maybe some of that dark pall was my own physical discomfort, but regardless, the people who were making me dread coming into work are gone, and i’m now excited to come every day.  Part of my ‘walk’ in entails sitting on the seabus for 10 minutes, and by the time I get off on the other side I usually have a plan in place for completing my to do list efficiently and correctly.

So, ok…this isn’t a very exciting post to read, I’m sure… but I’m excited about the future here for the first time in a long time.  To me that’s exciting, and let’s face it…the blog is a self indulgent form of expression and I write for me first.  So… 😛

I’m also getting stoked to do some music again.  I’m actively pursuing getting some people together to start a band.  It’s not easy, specially since people of the level and style I want tend to be looking for a pro gig and I’m starting a hobby, but I’m optimistic.  There are some people I know who play various things, and I’m hassling them.  Greg’s into going at any time, but I don’t think I want to spring for rehearsal space and gear rental for just the two of us…we’d just end up playing the old songs we used to play for 4 hours.  Not that that’s an especially bad thing, but it’s a question of my short funds vs. non productive fun.

Speaking of short funds, I’m still arguing with the insurance company.  Critical Illness insurance appears to solely be a way for insurance companies to suck money out of customers and not pay out.  Their wording is such that if you had a hang nail in 1982, it’s a pre-existing symptom to cardiovasular disease 25 years later.  NOT making me a happy guy right now.  And i’m just one peg shy of desperate to receive those funds to recover from 8 weeks of portional income.  Portional meaning a small portion of my regular income.  Sigh.

Anyways, that’s where it all sits today.  I can’t believe it’s been over a month since my last post!

2 comments so far

  1. mylesfromnowhere on

    Nothing gives me more pleasure today than stealing Gene Simmons intellectual property as a torrent… I did however pay for frehelys solo…( I have principles). By the time I wanted the Solo albu,s they were out of print in the US so I ordered then from Germany. The logo was spelled KIZZ…. because the s’s looked like the NAzi symbol
    But any ways…

  2. Rosie on

    Welcome back!


Leave a Reply

